Day 17 – A Little Piece of Home

Written in

by

I went to college at a small school in a small town in southern Minnesota. Usually, when I tell people about it, I am prepared for them to just nod their heads or say “That’s nice”. However, I have found that a large number of people in Chicago either know someone who went there or attend the school themselves. For instance, right before I left for college my freshman year, I spent the day downtown with my dad at work. While we were at lunch, our waiter took note of my dad’s hat and started telling us all about his time at Saint Mary’s. He even recommended us some fun spots to stop at along our drive up to campus.

This morning, while I was talking to my yoga instructor after class, I mentioned that my best friend from Minnesota was coming home for spring break. She is originally from Minnesota and asked if I was from there too. I explained that we met in college and that she stayed up there to teach. As it turns out, she went to the same college that I did and ended up in the suburbs too. It’s nice to be able to make these little connections with people and swap stories about our time in Winona.

Tags

2 responses to “Day 17 – A Little Piece of Home”

  1. Alyssa Buena Avatar

    It’s crazy to meet other people that have similar life experiences as you. And you always get to learn something new or learn of a place you never been to before that you want to visit now when you go back to your old stomping grounds.

    Like

  2. EugeniaKouts Avatar

    I think one of my friend’s daughters is going there to play softball! Seriously! What are the chances!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started